Home



Reference Resources

Featured Resources: Geneaology

Get access to thousands of geneaological records using Ancestry.com's library database. This collection includes information on over 4 billion names, using census data, historical maps, military records and more. Click the Ancestry image to access the database from inside the Library.
(Please note: This database can only be accessed from inside the library.)

HeritageQuest offers census data, family records, community documents and thousands of primary sources, many of which have been fully indexed and reproduced in their original form. Click the HeritageQuest logo above to access this database.
HeritageQuest may be accessed from outside the library. You will need to enter a WPL library card #.

 

Other Resources

 

Westmont Public Library subscribes to the following research resources. In order to search from your home or business you will need your Westmont library card number. Please enter it in the box after you click on one of the links below. Your Westmont card number contains 14 numbers and usually is under the barcode on the bottom of the card. The Reference staff will provide basic instruction on any of these resources. Just ask for assistance.

 

FirstSearch

FirstSearch offers research resources covering a variety of topics such as health, business and education. Many of the resources feature full-text articles. Access is also provided to WorldCat, a worldwide list of library holdings. Funding for FirstSearch is provided by the Illinois State Library.

Log in using WPL barcode number

Log in using ID and password, available at Reference Desk

 

Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest)

Geneaological information for over 4 billion names.

Accessible from inside Westmont Public Library only.

 

Animals Research Tool (EBSCO)

Fact sheets on thousands of animals, both prehistoric and modern, with photos.

 

Auto Repair Reference Center (EBSCO)

Repair procedures, wiring diagrams, labor cost caluclators, and more for hundreds of vehicles from 1945 to the present.

 

Booklist Online

Reviews books and DVDs.

 

Computer Source (EBSCO)

Up-to-the-minute information on computers and technology.

 

Encyclopedia Americana (Groiler)

An in-depth encyclopedia, geared toward high school students and adults.

If accessing database from outside the library, please use this link. 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access to hundreds of electronic reference books spanning all subjects. Search all books at once, just one subject, or just one book.

 

Groiler Multimedia Encyclopedia

A full-featured resource for students of all ages.

If accessing database from outside the library, please use this link.

 

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)

Search nearly 300 popular health and fitness periodicals.

 

HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest)
Primary source documents and data for geneaological research.

 

KidSearch (EBSCO)

Geared for grades K-8, this database makes it easy to search for animals, magazines, and encyclopedia articles all at once.

 

Lands and Peoples (Grolier)

Information about countries, cultures and current events. Includes maps, photos, and recent news features.

If accessing from outside the library, please use this link.

 

LearningExpress Library

Practice tests and study help for school subjects in all grade levels. Also includes practice exams for ACT, GED, ASVAB, and many others.

Just Added: Interactive computer training! Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and more!

 

Literature Resource Center (EBSCO)

Biographies, reviews, and literary criticism on thousands of authors spanning all time periods.

 

Magazine Research Tool (EBSCO MasterFile Premier)

Includes Time, Newsweek, and hundreds of other popular magazines.

 

NetLibrary

A rapidly growing collection of downloadable audiobooks.

You will need to create a username to access your NetLibrary account. Please contact the library to set up your login.

 

Newspaper Research Tool (EBSCO)

Search newspapers from all over the country, including the Chicago Tribune.

 

NoveList (EBSCO)

Recommendations on fiction titles. Search by author, book title, or subject.

 

NoveList K-8 (EBSCO)

Fiction and novel help for younger readers.

 

La Nueva Encyclopedia Cumbre (Grolier)

Una enciclopedia en español para todos los años. También tiene recursos para hablantes de inglés.

Si tiene acceso fuera de la biblioteca, por favor utiliza este acoplamiento.

 

Public Records

(Currently available only inside library. Home access is coming soon!)

Search lists of new homeowners, foreclosures and sales, bankruptcies, and new businesses. Contains records for DuPage, Cook, McHenry, Kendall, Lake, and Will counties.

 

ReferenceUSA

A nationwide directory for U.S. business and residential information. Search over 13 million business and 120 million residential listings.

 

Searchasaurus (EBSCO)

 An animated search interface for younger children. Search for facts, maps and pictures.

 

TOPICsearch Research Tool (EBSCO)

Explore important issues in the social sciences, including news and biographical sources.

 

TumbleBooks

Animated e-books for young children with read-along narration and sound. Also features games, puzzles, and quizzes for young readers.